Call for Entries for the JMB Award III

Josef Müller-Brockmann Award for Young Designers 2023

The Shizuko Yoshikawa and Josef Müller-Brockmann Foundation announces an art prize for young designers. In the spirit of the founder, Shizuko Yoshikawa, the aim is to recognize personalities at an early stage in their career and to promote and encourage their development.

The prize will be presented for the third time in 2023 and will be awarded in alternate years to the Shizuko Yoshikawa Prize for Young Women* Artists.

Swiss designers or persons resident in Switzerland during the entry period who have obtained a master’s degree from a Swiss art academy within the past 5 years (not earlier than 2016) are eligible to apply.
The candidates for the art prize are determined exclusively by the participating art schools in a nomination procedure.

Participating Art Schools 2023
ECAL Ecole cantonale d’art, Lausanne
HEAD Haute école d’art et de design, Genève
HGHGK FHNW, Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst, Basel
HSLU Hochschule Luzern, Departement Design & Kunst
ZHdK Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
SUPSI Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera italiana

No restrictions apply concerning the technical and creative means of expression if the result is an expression of consistent creative work. Performative works are not eligible. Group submissions are not eligible.

Prize Money
The sponsorship prize is endowed with 25,000 CHF.
The jury reserves the right to split the prize money between award-winners

Jury 2023
The jury is made up of members of the Foundation Board of Trustees and guest experts:
Manuel Krebs (guest expert, designer and founder of the graphic design studio NORM)
Lars Müller (Member Foundation Board of Trustees)
Gabrielle Schaad (Member Foundation Board of Trustees)
Isabel Seiffert (guest expert, designer and founder of the graphic design studio OFFSHORE)
Jonas Voegeli (Member Foundation Board of Trustees, Head of the Jury)

Procedure and dates
Call for proposals, end of January 2023
Confirmation of participation and naming of a contact person from the respective school, end of February 2023
Nominations by the universities and submission of dossiers by mid-April 2023
Jury 1st round, determination of the shortlist, beginning of May
Jury 2nd round, personal presentations of the shortlist nominations, in Zurich, end of June 2023
Announcement of prize winner, autumn 2023
Award ceremony, December 2023